The Subtle Art of Surrendering

How Learning to Surrender brought me peace despite chaos in Life

Dhananjay Trivedi
4 min readJun 27, 2024
Photo by Hoang M Nguyen on Unsplash

Two days before my birthday on June 28, 2024, I found myself in a situation I had never anticipated: lying in a hospital bed with a dislocated left shoulder and a fractured right leg.

This birthday was meant to be a solitary retreat at an Ashram in Nainital, a final moment of introspection before always having my wife-to-be by my side. Instead, it turned into a reflection of resilience and acceptance of life’s unpredictable nature.

Photo by Danka & Peter on Unsplash

A Year of Challenges

Reflecting on the past year, it’s clear that life rarely goes as planned. Last year was particularly tough for me. My attempt to launch a new project around ChatGPT failed due to my wrong and too early approach. I had naively believed that being a good developer was sufficient to launch a successful product.

This career setback was compounded by a personal heartbreak and other piled up unaddressed emotions from the past hit all together leading me into a period of depression from August to November.

Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

Learning to Surrender

During that dark time, a friend introduced me to the concept of surrendering to a higher power. This philosophy was a stark contrast to my controlling nature. Previously, I prided myself on achieving career goals and managing responsibilities as the eldest in my family. But life taught me that control is an illusion. My friend’s advice helped me understand that setbacks are opportunities for growth and that everything happens for a reason.

Photo by Joe Caione on Unsplash

Rebuilding with Resilience

This year, despite my accident and ongoing financial struggles, I’ve approached my challenges with a newfound strength. Unlike last year, I haven’t fallen into depression.

Instead, I’ve kept a positive mindset and continued working on my business. This resilience has allowed me to stay engaged and motivated, with clients lined up and valuable mentorship guiding my technical, sales, skills development.

Photo by Mathurin NAPOLY / matnapo on Unsplash

A Brush with Death

The accident itself was harrowing. I was speeding at 150 kmph, without any protective gear or even a helmet, a mistake driven by my eagerness to get dinner nearby.

When I crashed, the experience was surreal. The impact threw me off my bike, and I remember vividly seeing the road in 4K, the bike blurred and flashing ahead of me.

Miraculously, I survived and stood up on my own, despite no immediate help. This experience made me profoundly grateful for life and the support of my friends, family, and community.

Photo by Lindsay Henwood on Unsplash

Moving Forward

As I lie here, recovering, I see this period as another chapter in my journey. I am determined to learn from these experiences and grow stronger. Life will always throw curveballs, but it’s how we handle them that defines our path forward.

I hope my story resonates with those who face similar struggles. Remember, as Kendrick Lamar says, “If God got us, we gon’ be alright.” It’s this belief that keeps me going, knowing that every challenge is an opportunity to learn and emerge stronger.

Life’s unexpected turns have taught me valuable lessons in resilience, acceptance, and the power of a positive mindset. As I continue to recover and rebuild, I’m grateful for the support and wisdom that have guided me through.

I’m excited about what lies ahead and confident that, no matter the obstacles, I will keep moving forward.

--

--