My Lessons from Cold Walks

-ins in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, My Home State

Dhananjay Trivedi
4 min readJul 26, 2024

As an entrepreneur for the past one and a half years in Lucknow, I’ve experienced the highs and lows, the pain and the joys of starting a business from scratch.

Today, I want to share an interesting aspect of my journey: doing on-road cold walk-ins into automobile showrooms to pitch my services. This is my story, and these are my learnings.

The Pitch

My business model is straightforward. I walk into showrooms and pitch how I can help them achieve more sales through social media marketing automation with AI and ChatGPT, or through more personalized and effective sales strategies. I promise to double their lead conversion rates, and I charge a tenth of the additional revenue generated. Simple, right? Well, not quite.

The Realization

In my early pitches, I noticed that mentioning AI and ChatGPT scared people away. They were skeptical, perhaps thinking it was too complex or even a scam. I realized that while I understand and love tech jargon, my audience does not. So, I changed my approach. Instead of saying, “I have an AI-powered sales system,” I simply said, “I have a sales system that can help you achieve more sales.” The result? They were more interested and even provided contacts of their marketing managers.

Learnings from Cold Walk-Ins

1. Dress Right

Suit Up: It’s essential to dress the part. A suit brings respect and seriousness to your pitch. No matter how great your product is, if you don’t look the part, you won’t be taken seriously.

2. Understand Your Audience

Simplify Your Language: Avoid tech jargon. Speak in terms they understand and relate to. For example, instead of a “ChatGPT integrated AI workflow,” just say “a sales system that helps you make more sales.”

3. Learn to Wait but Don’t Wait Too Long

Be Patient Yet Persistent: Approach the decision maker politely. Often, the security guard or receptionist can be your ally. Show gratitude and ask them to connect you to the person in charge.

4. Convince the Subordinates First

Win Over the Deputy Manager: Before you get to the manager, convince their deputy or assistant. They can be instrumental in smoothing your path and ensuring the manager views you more favorably.

Today’s Experience

Today, I pitched my services to several automobile showrooms. I dressed right, simplified my pitch, and showed patience. One of the showrooms gave me the contact of their marketing manager, and I have a meeting scheduled for tomorrow. The journey is tough, but these small wins keep me going.

As I continue this journey, I’ll keep sharing my experiences, the things I learn, and the mistakes I make. Stay tuned for more insights from the trenches of entrepreneurship.

Follow my journey on Medium and LinkedIn.

Let’s keep learning and growing together. If you’re an entrepreneur, share your experiences in the comments. Let’s build a community of support and knowledge-sharing.

I hope this version captures your style and makes your journey relatable and engaging for your readers!

--

--