Debunking Myths and Key Learnings

From My Initial Product Management Journey

Dhananjay Trivedi
3 min readMay 25, 2024
Photo by airfocus on Unsplash

Debunking Myths and Key Learnings from My Product Management Journey

My journey into Product Management has been an eye-opening experience, filled with learning, growth, and a fair share of myth-busting. Here’s a reflection on some critical insights and experiences that have shaped my understanding of this dynamic field.

Myth 1: Product Managers Need a Technical Background

Reality: One of the biggest myths I encountered is that you need a technical background to be an effective Product Manager. While my background in software engineering (Java, Android, Flutter) certainly helps, it’s not a strict requirement. The course taught me that effective PMs come from diverse backgrounds, including marketing, sales, and customer support. The key is understanding user needs, business goals, and being able to bridge gaps between different teams.

Myth 2: Product Management is All About Ideas

Reality: Ideas are just the beginning. The real value of a Product Manager lies in execution, prioritization, and continuous iteration. Throughout the course, I learned that turning ideas into tangible…

--

--